The theft of a misplaced iPhone or phone will send the alarm bell ringing. That’s why the Find My app on your iPhone and iPad is such an important security feature. From iOS 13 onwards, Apple combined Find My iPhone and Find My Friends into this single app.
Find My is a vital radar for reducing your “lost and found” accidents. It is also an important hub for sharing your location with friends and family. But it’s also a feature you should turn off when selling or giving away your iPhone.
First, let’s answer why; then we will review how to turn off Find My on your iPhone or iPad.
Why You Should Turn Off “Find My” When You Sell Your iPhone
There are three reasons to turn off Find My when you sell your iPhone, give it up for recycling, or hand it over to a friend or family member:
- You can’t restore your iPhone or iPad to its original factory settings without disabling Find My.
- Anyone with your Apple ID and password can track you through the Find My app in iCloud.
- Activation Lock is on to lock your device when you activate Find My, meaning shoppers can’t use it.
That’s why you should make sure to disable the feature before you forward your device or send it in for service. You can turn off Find My from the app, as well as remotely from iCloud, by unlinking your device from your Apple account.
How to Turn Off Find My iPhone
The Find My app exists as a dedicated utility on your iOS device. In iOS 13, Find My Phone and Find My Friends are combined into one single app. Now, you can use it to share your location, mark a device as lost, and wipe your data remotely.
But to turn it off, you’ll need to head to a different place: the Settings menu on your iPhone:
- open Settings.
- Tap the Apple ID banner with your name (first item on the Settings screen).
- Scroll down for Find My on the next screen.
- Now, tap Find My iPhone/iPad. Toggle slider Find My iPhone/iPad to the off position.
- You must enter your Apple ID and password to turn off Find My iPhone.
- Find My iPhone will now be disabled for these iOS devices.
If you are planning to sell your device, now you can restore iPhone to factory default settings. Do this using Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. However, it’s a good idea to first sign out of iCloud completely by tapping Sign Out at the bottom of the page Apple ID, which you can access by tapping your name at the top Settings.
How to Disable Find My From iCloud
Before you give your device to someone, you must sign in to iCloud and delete all content and settings. This completely erases everything on your iPhone, removes it from the linked Apple ID, and turns off Find My.
If you use two-factor authentication on your Apple ID, you’ll get a verification code on your Apple device as an added layer of security when you sign in to iCloud from a browser. You can also log in to Find My iPhone directly on the web.
Use the same Apple ID and password linked to the phone you’re selling and follow the steps below. iCloud shows a map with your iPhone’s location:
- Click the dropdown arrow next to All Devices at the top of the map and select a specific device from the list.
- Click Erase iPhone in the dropdown that appears for the specific device you selected. Since you own an Apple device and want to give it away, don’t enter a message or number here.
- If your phone turns off, a reset prompt will appear on the next boot. The phone will be wiped remotely and you will get an email when it’s done.
- Once your device is erased, click on the green informasi that says Remove from Account.
The device will now be wiped and reset. Other users can now activate it after completing the steps on the screen Set up your iPhone.
Notes: Full set of iCloud features including Find My iPhone. If you don’t see Find My iPhone when you visit iCloud.com on your computer, your account only has access to iCloud’s web-only features. To use Find My iPhone, sign in to iCloud on your Apple device from Settings.
Turn off Find My iPhone Without Apple ID
You can’t do this.
Find Me on your Apple device is not only a recovery feature, it’s a layer of security as well. Your Apple ID is at the core, protecting your device in the event of theft or loss. Apple Support gives you some how to recover or reset Apple ID you in case of running out of memory.
Don’t Sell Your iPhone Before Turning Off Find My
If you still have Find My turned on or haven’t reset your iOS device, it’s not ready for sale. Watch for these two signs:
- When the device has not been unlinked from your iCloud account, the screen Activation Lock will appear during the setup process.
- If you haven’t erased all data on your phone, you will see a passcode lock or home screen on startup. Make sure you see Set up your iPhone you when you turn on the device.
Always erase all content and remove the device from your iCloud account before you give it to someone. Otherwise, the person you provide will have to contact you and ask you to do it remotely from your iCloud account.